NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition Redesign
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Section: Spotlight Articles, July 2016

The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is redesigning the PCMH Recognition program to offer greater flexibility, personalized service, a streamlined approach, ongoing improvement, and an alignment with changes in health care. Feedback from practices, policy makers, payers and other key stakeholders led to the redesign.

An Advisory Board, which included Deborah Murph of Cherokee Health Systems, recommended the elimination of recognition levels. Another recommended change is a movement away from the standards-elements-factors format to a set of Core criteria that must be met and a set of Additional criteria. Practices will be able to select the additional measures that are most relevant to their activities to the community and population served. For more information, click here.

A table outlining the PCMH 2017 Recommendations can be found here. To provide comments on the 2017 revised measures, click here.

Key Dates

  • Public comment on the recommended revised standards is open through July 15, 2016.
  • The re-designed process and 2017 standards will be available March 31, 2017.
  • The last day to purchase PCMH 2014 survey licenses is March 31, 2017.
  • The last day to submit all PCMH 2014 site surveys is September 30, 2017.
Post a Comment